Studio Trigger France
Choose your language FRJPEN

facebookTwitterGoogle +Youtube

Trigger Partners

Ultra Super Pictures

Studio Sanzigen

Studio Ordet

Twitter

Works

Links

QR CODE Studio Trigger France
What is a QRcode?
It is a little barcode allowing you to easily access to our website from your mobile phone. No more clicks, no more website address to remember and write down...

Special

Exclusive Interview of Trigger Studio

Following the creation of the studio Trigger, we had the opportunity to interview Masahiko Otsuka, chairman of the society. As a reminder, Masahiko Otsuka gathered with with Hiroyuki Imaishi and Kazuya Masumoto. The three of them are former members of Gainax. They founded their own structure on August 22, 2011.

Studio trigger

tag Inside the studio

01What are the reasons that have induced you to found Trigger?

In Japan, inside the animation circle, I felt that a paradigm shift was happening concerning the method of production and management. To accommodate this situation, it seemed necessary to create a new studio. Obviously, this is also the result of the search for an ideal environment for the production of animation.

02Were there things that you could not achieve by staying at Gainax?

Yes, otherwise it would not have made sense to create a new studio. I had a great freedom at the studio Gainax. In fact, works like Gurren Lagann or Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt would never have had the agreement of other people from other studios – I am very grateful in this regard. But I thought that, now, a production studio must engage not only in the phase of the animation production but also in the promotion. In other words, it must also think the way to present its work to the fans. To make this change possible, it is necessary to obtain agreement from everyone in the studio outside of the production section. So I decided to found another studio.

03Can you tell us the names of some people who also participate in this adventure? Besides Hiroyuki Imaishi, Kazuya Masumoto and yourself.

As for now, besides the three of us, there is a person who deals with administrative formalities. Before next spring, some people will join the production section. In principle, we will not change the current arrangements for production that most animation studios in the Tokyo area – including Gainax – choose, we bring together a team of independent animators for each work. However, I hope these animators will continuously participate to the projects of Trigger and I think we can prepare some positions for this purpose.

Studio trigger

tag Work tables for the animators of the studio

04 As Hideaki Anno with Evangelion, will you get back some of the copyrights of Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt and Gurren Lagann? Are you still on good terms with Gainax?

Everyone owns the copyright in respect of the script, the directing, etc., ever since the time of Gainax. I would like to continue to maintain a good relationship with the studio Gainax, in order to help each other.

05 What advantages do you get from your affiliation with the holding company Ultra Super Pictures? Can you tell us more about its structure?

Each studio is responsible for the production, as before. But the holding company Super Ultra Pictures will be responsible for the management and presentation of the work. We are talking about the details of the structure, around Mr. Hiroaki Matsuura from Sanzigen.

06 Have you a personal project into production or will you continue to subcontract with other anime studios at the moment?

We have an original animation project and we are in the preparation phase. At first, we will participate in works by other studios. However, I wish to make Trigger known as a studio capable of producing an original and ambitious animation.

07 Do you have a message for your fans?

The true meaning of the creation of the studio Trigger will speak only through our work and our future activities. Please keep an eye on our creations.

Studio trigger

tag Tokyo, seen from the premises of the studio

Informations & Credits

Source(s) : Gainax.fr
Date of publication : December 30, 2011
Author(s) : Otaking
Others infos : A big thanks to Masahiko Otsuka for his kindness and accessibility. Translated by Kazuko (from Japanese to French) and by Code G² ( from French to English).

Studio Trigger France
Choose your language FRJPEN

facebookTwitterGoogle +Youtube

Partenaires du studio

Ultra Super Pictures

Studio Sanzigen

Studio Ordet

Twitter

Works

Liens

QR CODE Studio Trigger France
Qu'est-ce qu'un QR Code ?
Petit code-barre intelligent vous permettant d'accéder facilement depuis votre mobile à notre site internet. Plus de clic, plus d'adresse web à retenir et à saisir...

Special

Interview exclusive de MASAHIKO ÔTSUKA

Conséquemment à la création du studio Trigger, nous avons eu l'occasion de questionner Masahiko Ôtsuka, président de la société. Pour rappel, Masahiko Ôtsuka s'est entouré de Hiroyuki Imaishi et Kazuya Masumoto. Tous les trois sont d'anciens membres du studio Gainax. Ils ont lancé leur propre structure le 22 août 2011.

Studio trigger

tag A l'intérieur du studio

01Quelles sont les raisons qui vous ont poussées à fonder le studio Trigger ?

Au Japon, dans le monde de l’animation, j’ai senti qu’un changement de paradigme était en train de se produire concernant la méthode de production et de gestion. Pour s’adapter à cette situation, il me semblait nécessaire de créer un nouveau studio. Évidemment, c’est aussi la conséquence de la recherche d’un environnement idéal pour la production d’animation.

02 Y avait-il des choses que vous n’auriez pas pu réaliser en restant au studio Gainax ?

Oui, sinon cela n’aurait pas eu de sens de créer un nouveau studio. J’avais disposé d’une grande liberté au sein du studio Gainax. En fait, des œuvres comme Gurren Lagann ou Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt n’auraient jamais eu l’accord d'autres personnes dans d’autres studios – je suis très reconnaissant à cet égard. Mais j’ai pensé que, désormais, un studio de production doit s’engager non seulement dans la phase de la production d’animation mais aussi dans celle de la promotion. En d’autres termes, il doit aussi penser à la façon de présenter ses travaux aux fans. Pour rendre ce changement possible, il faut obtenir un accord de toutes les personnes du studio ; en dehors de la section de production. J’ai donc pris la décision de fonder un autre studio.

03Peut-on connaître le nom de certaines personnes qui participent aussi à cette aventure ? Hors Hiroyuki Imaishi, Kazuya Masumoto et vous-même.

Pour le moment, outre nous trois, il n’y a qu’une personne qui s’occupe des formalités administratives. Avant le printemps prochain, quelques personnes rejoindront la section de production. En principe, nous ne changerons pas les modalités actuelles de production que la plupart des studios d’animation de la région de Tôkyô – y compris Gainax – choisissent ; nous réunissons une équipe d’animateurs indépendants pour chaque œuvre. Cependant, j’espère que ces animateurs participeront de manière continue aux projets de Trigger et je crois que nous pourrons préparer un certain nombre de postes à cet effet.

Studio trigger

tag Les tables de travail pour les animateurs du studio

04 Comme Hideaki Anno avec Evangelion, allez-vous récupérer une partie des droits de Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt voire de Gurren Lagann ? Êtes-vous resté en bons termes avec le studio Gainax ?

Chacun possède les droits d’auteur en ce qui concerne le scénario, la réalisation, etc., depuis l’époque de Gainax. J’aimerais continuer à entretenir une bonne relation avec le studio Gainax, afin de nous entraider.

05 Quels avantages pensez-vous tirer de votre affiliation avec la holding Ultra Super Pictures ? Pouvez-vous aussi nous présenter cette structure ?

Chaque studio s’occupe de la production, comme avant. Mais la holding Ultra Super Pictures se chargera de la gestion et de la présentation du travail. Nous sommes en train de discuter sur les détails de la structure, autour de M. Hiroaki Matsuura de chez Sanzigen.

06 Avez-vous déjà un projet personnel en production ou bien comptez-vous continuer à sous-traiter des animes avec d'autres studios pour le moment ?

Nous avons un projet d’animation originale et nous sommes dans la phase de préparation. Au début, nous participerons aux œuvres d’autres studios. Je souhaite cependant faire connaître le studio Trigger comme un studio capable de produire une animation originale et ambitieuse.

07 Avez-vous un message à adresser à vos fans ?

Le véritable sens de la création du studio Trigger ne s’exprimera que via nos œuvres et nos activités futures. S’il vous plaît, gardez un œil sur nos créations.

Studio trigger

tag Tôkyô, vu depuis les locaux du studio

Informations & Crédits

Source(s) : Sekai Project
Date de publication : 30 décembre 2011
Auteur(s) : Otaking
Autres informations : Un grand merci à Masahiko Ôtsuka pour sa gentillesse et son accessibilité. Traduction réalisée par Kazuko et adaptée par Code G².